St. Francis Links: Reviews

visitors_1
9.0
kathi
Steel
Played on: 8 February 2020 Review date: 25 February 2020Handicap: 23
Traum Golfcourse den zu spielen sich sehr lohnt. Linksgolf wie es im Buche steht. Euch erwartet ein abwechslungsreicher und herausfordernder Platz in Top Zustand.
Translate to English
visitors_1
9.9
MartinDeWilde
Bronze
Played on: 2 February 2020 Review date: 2 February 2020Handicap: 10.7
Dit is een fantastische links course en met recht een van de topbanen van Zuid Afrika. We hebben genoten en vanuit de lodge zo de baan op is geweldig. In een woord top!
Translate to English
visitors_1
8.8
MartinDeWilde
Bronze
Played on: 2 February 2020 Review date: 17 February 2020Handicap: 10.7
Dit is een fantastische links course en met recht een van de topbanen van Zuid Afrika. We hebben genoten en vanuit de lodge zo de baan op is geweldig. In een woord top!
Translate to English
visitors_1
8.2
jstarre
Bronze
Played on: 12 December 2019 Review date: 28 December 2019Handicap: 20
clubs_1
clubs_1
clubs_1
Prachtige linkscourse, speciaal voor deze baan een stop in onze rondreis besproken. Ontzettend vriendelijk en enthousiast onthaal bij aankomst. Alle voorzieningen zijn top. De baan zelf is een feestje, prachtig ontwerp en uitdagend. Her en der wel wat bebouwing maar geen moment storend. Greens echt top, supersnel en hele subtiele slope. Genoten!
Translate to English
visitors_1
8.3
antoine
Gold
Played on: 9 December 2019 Review date: 9 December 2019Handicap: 15.1
clubs_1
clubs_1
clubs_1
clubs_1
10
Zie ook de vorige twee reviews. Wat een heerlijke plekje om te zijn Het derde jaar dat ik een flink stuk om rij om hier te spelen, en nog steeds geheel tevreden. Deze duinbaan, is een verademing. Nu nog net voor dat de vakantieperiode begint lekker rustig gespeeld vandaag. Ja het is de omgeving met de meeste wind, Port Elizabeth is Windy City, en daar moet je om kunnen …
Translate to English
visitors_1
8.7
Jojo
Silver
Played on: 1 November 2019 Review date: 9 December 2019Handicap: 28.5
Vriendelijke ontvangst en mooi clubhuis met goed gesorteerde grote shop. Mooie, zeer goed onderhouden linksbaan, die met harde wind best pittig is om te spelen. Als je bal in het fynbos komt heb je goeie kans hem kwijt te zijn. De greens zijn razend snel en dus erg lastig. Bij de afslag van hole 9 is een telefoon waarmee je je bestelling voor halfway house kan opgeven, di…
Translate to English
visitors_1
8.9
Harry55Smits
Gold
Played on: 20 October 2019 Review date: 20 October 2019Handicap: 8.9
Wat een pareltje is deze golfbaan. Schitterende layout, prachtige vergezichten, uitstekende fairways en mooie, snelle, en zeer geonduleerde greens. Prima clubhuis met zeer complete faciliteiten. De baan, van de hand van Jack Nicklaus, is zeer uitdagend en vraagt alle kunde van de speler. Zeker als het zo waait, als toen wij er hebben gespeeld. Maar het is natuurlijk ook e…

Reply from St. Francis Links — 21 October 2019

Hi There! Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts about St Francis Links. We really do appreciate your comments. You are correct when you say to take in the surroundings, as well. They are stunning! We hope to see you again!
Translate to English
visitors_1
9.7
shaber.eh
Steel
Played on: 17 March 2019 Review date: 18 March 2019Handicap:
clubs_1
clubs_1
clubs_1
We were fortunate enough to play a spontaneous 9 holes at St Francis Links during a Garden Route road trip. Best decision we made. The course is absolutely spectacular, definitely the most beautiful I have ever played. Aside from a really enjoyable round, the thing that stood out most was the incredibly friendly staff. In the golf shop, in the restaurant and a few others …

Reply from St. Francis Links — 18 March 2019

Wow... imagine you had played all 18! Please let me know when you are coming back so that we can make a proper plan for a complete golfing experience! We will assist you with accommodation options, as well. Jeff Clause
visitors_1
9.7
simon.s.hossain
Steel
Played on: 17 March 2019 Review date: 18 March 2019Handicap:
clubs_1
Had the opportunity to play at this beautiful course, I’m a beginner and had not played in a while, was pleasantly surprised by my performance. The screens in the buggies really help with each hole, giving you the distance yo pin and other helpful information. The staff was incredible, very helpful in the pro shop with all the supplies we needed to enjoy our round of 9.…
visitors_1
9.5
arnoudtalma
Steel
Played on: 17 March 2019 Review date: 18 March 2019Handicap:
clubs_1
Stunning setting! Very friendly staff! As a beginner I have the feeling the difficulty level is doable, although there are quite a lot of bunkers.
visitors_1
9.1
PS
Silver
Played on: 16 March 2019 Review date: 16 March 2019Handicap: 13.5
One of the best in the cape. O.

Reply from St. Francis Links — 17 March 2019

Say no more! Come again, PS! We’re waiting... ??
Translate to English
visitors_1
9.2
C.K.H.
Steel
Played on: 4 March 2019 Review date: 18 March 2019Handicap: 30.6
clubs_1
Beautiful and well-maintained course! Fairways and greens are very fast with plenty of bunkers and roughs, which makes the course challenging.

Reply from St. Francis Links — 19 March 2019

Thanks, C. K. H. for taking the time to write your review. As an "improving golfer" (we all are), I'm sure the course was challenging. The more you play it the better you understand the subtleties of golf in the dunes. Come and see us again!
visitors_1
8.3
sandberg548
Steel
Played on: 1 March 2019 Review date: 13 March 2019Handicap: 18.6
En mycket trevlig och utmanande bana som kräver närvaro och focus.

Reply from St. Francis Links — 14 March 2019

Thank you for coming to St Francis Links, playing the course and reviewing your stay. We look forward to seeing you back again! Jeff
Translate to English
visitors_1
8.7
Golek
Silver
Played on: 13 February 2019 Review date: 14 February 2019Handicap: 21
Très beau golf, très technique, dont le parcours ce développe dans le maquis afrikaner très sauvage (odeurs!)Malheureusement toujours dès résidences en bordure des fairway mais pour une fois assez éloignées et intégrées dans le paysage Superbe club housse avec une magnifique vue sur la mer et les montagnes Pour moi... un des tops de la route des jardins.

Reply from St. Francis Links — 16 February 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about St Francis Links! We appreciate the feedback. We are a residential estate and I am sure you’ll agree that the playing areas are extensive and the architectural theme compliments the aesthetics! We look forward to your return! Jeff
Translate to English
visitors_1
8.1
antoine
Gold
Played on: 6 January 2019 Review date: 6 January 2019Handicap: 15.1
clubs_1
clubs_1
clubs_1
clubs_1
22
Kijk ook naar de review van 2017 Wat een heerlijke baan Ben weer 2*300 km om gereden om hier te spelen en wat een fijne ervaring Jack niclaus weet wat golfers willen en dat krijg je ook. Afwisseling, lang en uitdagend, kort en nog uitdagender. Down Hill en uphill holes, en in alle wind richtingen. Dit schijnt de plek met de meeste wind in SA te zijn en zaterdag heb ik me…

Reply from St. Francis Links — 7 January 2019

Thanks Antoine for you critical review of St Francis Links. It was great to have you back as a returning guest. Your criticism of windswept dune bunkers is fair. We describe them as natural hazards and point out to our golfers on the local rules sheet that the amount of sand will vary with the coastal conditions. We are more concerned with keeping it all natural. And did you find the tees and greens? We are about halfway through the project converting our tees to bent grass, mowing them now with greens mowers. I’ll accept the 6,5 course number as critical. And we will endeavor to keep improving with each visit. Jeff.
Translate to English
visitors_1
9.8
kellerthinus
Steel
Played on: 28 December 2018 Review date: 28 December 2018Handicap: 1.8
World class! You will never get tired of playing this amazing course. The design and natural land is one of the best I have ever seen. Staff are very friendly and try their best to meet every expectation. Located in a small seaside town, this gem of a course will never leave you feeling disappointed.

Reply from St. Francis Links — 28 December 2018

Thanks for the review, Thinus. We have really evolved over the years, the course maturing in every way. Keep playing!
visitors_1
8.1
DigbyBenn
Gold
Played on: 27 December 2018 Review date: 8 January 2019Handicap: 15
clubs_1
clubs_1
clubs_1
clubs_1
33
A beautifull links course at St. Francis Bay, where the elements are almost always at play. We started off on a sunny afternoon, only to experience late afternoon storms and gusty winds. The conditions forced us to come in after 12 holes. Luckily they compensated us by offering us the opportunity to play the back nine the next day. What a difference, perfect conditions p…

Reply from St. Francis Links — 9 January 2019

Hi I remember the 27th was one of the busist days in the holiday and Mother Nature got in a mood. We would always rather see you play again than walk away bruised. Thanks for your review??
visitors_1
9.5
j.slater
Steel
Played on: 23 December 2018 Review date: 23 December 2018Handicap: 6.9
clubs_1
clubs_1
Its a great test! Makes you think and can reward you at any stage! Staff are brilliant and Jeff makes you feel welcome every single time you play here.

Reply from St. Francis Links — 25 December 2018

Thanks, Jason You are a great ambassador for St Francis Links
visitors_1
9.1
blaauw.charl
Steel
Played on: 14 December 2018 Review date: 20 December 2018Handicap: 12
every need is looked after before you can even think about it. friendly staff, great golf course and the hosts with the most "Jeff Clause and his wife Liezl Clause".

Reply from St. Francis Links — 20 December 2018

Thanks, Charl! Keep playing the course; it gets better with every round you play!
visitors_1
9.3
rab64
Steel
Played on: 20 November 2018 Review date: 19 December 2018Handicap: 19
clubs_1
An absolute gem worth traveling all the way from Ireland for. These guys have got the whole experience to aT, flawlessly presented with a great friendly team headed by the one and only Jeff Clause the host that gives the most!

Reply from St. Francis Links — 20 December 2018

Thanks Rab! With the great courses you play in Norn Iron, that means a lot!
visitors_1
10.0
barry40
Steel
Played on: 5 May 2018 Review date: 9 May 2018Handicap: 14.7
We have just had our club champs and it was another great experience. A week ago they had the Seniors nationals there and what raving great comments from all. The best golf course in South Africa.

Reply from St. Francis Links — 10 May 2018

Hi Barry, Thanks for sharing your support for all we do at St Francis Links. You inspire us all!
visitors_1
8.6
beat.michel
Gold
Played on: 30 April 2018 Review date: 30 April 2018Handicap: 18
Sehr abwechslungsreicher und interessanter Golfplatz. Der ganze Platz ist leider häufig extrem dem Wind ausgesetzt. Riesiges Clubhaus. Sehr ruhig gelegen.

Reply from St. Francis Links — 1 May 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write. Yes, there are almost always breezes at the coast. Fortunately, they enhance more than they hurt - sorry you caught a tough day! Please come again!
Translate to English
visitors_1
9.9
pckenroy
Steel
Played on: 17 April 2018 Review date: 17 April 2018Handicap: 21
clubs_1
It was an amazing golfing experience and the staff were second to none. Three cheers to the ultimate host, Jeff Clause for making it so special!

Reply from St. Francis Links — 26 April 2018

Thanks, Mr P. It was great having you back again. Please keep the ambassador flag flying wherever you go!
visitors_1
9.2
cheetahstrydom
Steel
Played on: 15 April 2018 Review date: 17 April 2018Handicap: 10
Awesome golf course. Clever lay-out, pristine course conditions, beautiful surroundings, excellent facilities, friendly staff and I can go on. It is a course that you don't grow tired of. If you play well you can score well, and when you do, there is a real sense of accomplishment. This is not only a "must play" course, it is a "must play more than once" course.

Reply from St. Francis Links — 17 April 2018

Thanks for the review, my friend. You are correct, St Francis Links gets better with each round you play. Golf in the dunes needs a "sighter" and then a "flighter"
visitors_1
9.0
ianmac360
Steel
Played on: 11 April 2018 Review date: 26 April 2018Handicap: 12
Everything about the whole golf experience was wonderful. Just loved it that each hole had a name. Jeff makes you feel like you are a member playing at your home course. Truly awesome and I look forward to returning.

Reply from St. Francis Links — 26 April 2018

Hello, my friend. Thanks for taking the time to review our St Francis Links. It really is motivating!
visitors_1
8.0
Romaro
Steel
Played on: 4 April 2018 Review date: 9 April 2018Handicap: 18
Lasting memory is one of excellent hospitality, friendly staff, serviced in home language, a detailed golf course with good risk and reward holes for an average golfer like myself. I will definitely recommend this course to another golfer. With the restrictions on water, this club is doing an excellent job to keep the high standards.

Reply from St. Francis Links — 11 April 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review St Francis Links. We hope to see you soon!
visitors_1
9.3
blaauw.charl
Steel
Played on: 30 March 2018 Review date: 6 April 2018Handicap: 12
What a great experience! the Hospitality and Golf course is much more than I could ever have expected.

Reply from St. Francis Links — 6 April 2018

Thanks for writing... and the course gets better every time you play!
visitors_1
8.9
cwkkelway
Steel
Played on: 7 February 2018 Review date: 4 April 2018Handicap: 21
Not only is this a great course (one of the best in South Africa- Top 6), but the hospitality is simply the best you will find anywhere in the world. The CEO of St Francis Links - Jeff Clause - really does know who to ensure you have a smile on and off the course. Very difficult to comment on anything to improve.. when everything is so great.

Reply from St. Francis Links — 4 April 2018

Thanks for taking the time to comment. We are more motivated every time we read one - always seeking knowledge of a better way!
visitors_1
8.1
bruce5
Steel
Played on: 9 January 2018 Review date: 9 January 2018Handicap: 16
The visual from each hole is exceptional. The layout is natural and respects the adjoining land. But most impressive is the Golf Director who is so positive every day of the week, no matter if your are a beginner or tour professional.
visitors_1
9.1
GiorgioP
Bronze
Played on: 25 November 2017 Review date: 31 December 2017Handicap: 25
Werkelijk prachtige baan (Nicklaus). Midden in een ecologisch mooi gebied. Schitterende uitdagende holes die zo gelegen zijn dat je bijna nooit een andere hole ziet. Wel een buggy nemen lopen zal zwaar zijn. Er is een drivingrange maar die ligt nogal ver weg. Bovendien moet je dan door een poort die voor ons niet open ging. Dus maar niet ingeslagen. Neem voldoende ballen …
Translate to English
Don’t miss out on our tee time deals, new articles and everything golf-related by joining our newsletter!
Ladies European TourIAGTOGeo FoundationBig Green Egg

Copyright © 2007-2022 — leadingcourses.com